TIP Engineers dominate EDQ Cup

EDQ Cup Champions

The Technological Institute of the Philippines (T.I.P.) Engineers were crowned champions in the 2nd Engr. Demetrio Quirino (EDQ) Cup after beating defending champions College of St. Benilde (CSB) Blazers, 69-68, in a hotly-contested match that saw the Engineers defense effectively silencing the Blazer’s top guns in the game’s dying seconds. T.I.P. power forward Raymond Alvarado took home the season MVP trophy while fellow Engineers Kimley Medina and Carlo Gomez earned spots in the Mythical Five together with San Beda College Red Lions Dan Sara and CSB Blazers Paul Saavedra and Jonathan Grey. The EDQ Cup is an invitational basketball tournament hosted by T.I.P. in honor of its founder, Engr. Demetrio Quirino.

Eight schools participated in this year’s annual tournament, including Far Eastern University, Mapua Institute of Technology, National University, San Beda College, University of Santo Tomas and University of the East. Photo shows T.I.P. Assistant VP for Administration Angelo Lahoz with the 2nd EDQ Cup champions.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s